# SURF LIFE SAVING® NEWZEALAND

# AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE

#### **National Award Winners 2008**

In September each year the Surf Life Saving Awards of Excellence are held in Wellington. These awards are an opportunity to celebrate achievements within Surf Life Saving and recognise members for the outstanding contribution they make to the organisation.

Awards presented Saturday 27 September at the BP Surf Rescue Awards:

#### **BP Surf Rescue of the Year**

Nathan Smith & Liam O'Toole - Papamoa Surf Life Saving Club (<u>read an article on the winners from Surf Rescue 45</u>)

# NZ Lottery Grants Board - Lifeguard of the Year

Debbie Phillips-Morgan - Raglan Surf Life Saving Club (<u>read an article on Debbie from Surf Rescue</u> 45)

#### **Best Article in Print**

Leanne Warr, Western Leader

### **Best image in Print**

Craig Baxter

Awards presented Sunday 28 September at the DHL In it for Life Awards:

DHL Volunteer of the Year, Neale Ames - Otaki Surf Life Saving Club

DHL Surf Official of the Year, Brian Velvin - Fitzroy Surf Life Saving Club

DHL Coach of the Year, Walter Maxwell - Lyall Bay Surf Life Saving Club

DHL Instructor of the Year, Allan Mundy - Surf Life Saving Bay of Plenty

**High Performance of the Year,** Steven Kent, Glenn Anderson, Callum Joll and Michael Buck At the German Cup the New Zealand Team set a new world record in the 4x50m Obstacle Relay in a

time of 1:40:95. This was New Zealand's first world record since 1998.

NZ Service Awards

- Martin Robinson Lyall Bay Surf Life Saving Club
- Lee Yates Titahi Bay Surf Life Saving Club
- Sheryl McLay Lyall Bay Surf Life Saving Club
- Graham Goldsworthy Fitzroy Surf Life Saving Club
- Boyd Harris Fitzroy Surf Life Saving Club
- John Williams Opunake Surf Life Saving Club

- Paddy Walsh Opunake Surf Life Saving Club
- Paul Carlyon Otaki Surf Life Saving Club
- Julie Laurenson Otaki Surf Life Saving Club
- Edwin Richards Red Beach Surf Life Saving Club
- Jonathon Webber Piha Surf Life Saving Club
- Allan Seager Piha Surf Life Saving Club
- Allan Franich Orewa Surf Life Saving Club
- Mark McCarthny Orewa Surf Life Saving Club
- Wayne Franich Orewa Surf Life Saving Club
- Larry Rountree Piha Surf Life Saving Club
- Michelle Newton Red Beach Surf Life Saving Club
- Deborah Handford Orewa Surf Life Saving Club
- Fred Toone Omanu Surf Life Saving Club
- Kelvin Williams St Clair Surf Life Saving Club

# NZ Distinguished Service Awards

- Brian Wilson Midway Surf Life Saving Club, Gisborne
- Grant Morrison Mairangi Bay Surf Life Saving Club
- David Price North Beach Surf Life Saving Club, Canterbury

## NZ Life Member Awards

- Denis Cooksley Mairangi Bay, Auckland
- Alan Thompson Waikanae, Gisborne