National Award Winners 2009

Each year, we recognise members for the outstanding contribution they make to the organisation. In 2009, the BP Rescue Awards were presented at a reception held at Parliament, by the Hon Dr Lockwood Smith.

At this reception on 28 July 2009, the New Zealand Lottery Grants Board Lifeguard of the Year award was presented to Rob Pidgeon of United North Piha Lifeguard Service. Read about Rob (pdf, 3mb).

The other finalists were Paul Carlyon of Otaki Surf Life Saving Club and Mike Smith of Taylors Mistake Surf Life Saving Club. Read about Paul  (pdf, 2mb) and read about Mike  (pdf, 1mb).

A special Outstanding Surf Rescue Achievement commendation was given to Cameron Turchie (Lyall Bay SLSC), Sadwyn Brophy (Paekakariki Surf Lifeguards) and Temuera Forbes (Paekakariki Surf Lifeguards), for their brave rescue of a 5-year-old boy at Mt Maunganui in March 2009. Read the commendation (pdf, 182kb).

On 20 September 2009, the DHL 'In it for Life' Awards were held in Wellington. At this luncheon, the national awards given to recognise outstanding service, hard work and dedication were presented. View the award winners receiving their awards.

Twenty-three Service and Distinguished Service Awards were presented along with five Life Member Awards celebrating volunteer work spanning over many decades. The recipients were:

DHL Volunteer of the Year: Seth McPhee, Brighton SLSC (Dunedin)
DHL Official of the Year: Wayne Franich,  Orewa SLSC (Auckland)
DHL Surf Coach of the Year: Chris Swain,  Westshore SLSC (Napier)
DHL Instructor/Examiner of the Year: Faron Turner, Orewa SLSC (Auckland)
DHL High Performance Sport Result of the Year: Ben Willis, Paekakariki SLSC (Wellington)

Life Member Awards

Graeme Danks, Red Beach SLSC (Auckland)
Peter Gibbons, St Kilda SLSC (Dunedin)
Brian Quirk, Westshore SLSC (Napier)
David Emett, East End SLSC (New Plymouth) 
Ted Varcoe, Paekakariki SLSC (Wellington)
June McGregor, Gisborne Ladies / Waikanae SLSC (Gisborne)

Distinguished Service Awards

Warwick Donnelly, Mairangi Bay SLSC (Auckland)
Grant Florence, Mairangi Bay SLSC (Auckland)
George Cowper, Red Beach SLSC (Auckland)
Heather Kohn, Midway SLSC (Gisborne)
Jason Hutchings, Waikanae SLSC (Gisborne)
Ray Stoddart, Lyall Bay SLSC (Wellington)
Ron Valentine, Paekakariki SLSC (Wellington)

Service Awards

Scott Pritchard, Red Beach SLSC (Auckland)
Cherie Dillon, Red Beach SLSC (Auckland)
Gregory Hall, Mairangi Bay SLSC (Auckland)
Grant Florence, Mairangi Bay SLSC (Auckland)
David Bradley, Taylors Mistake SLSC (Christchurch)
Phillip Watkins, Waimairi SLSC (Christchurch)
John Murphy, Waimarama SLSC (Napier)
Marcus Gardner, Nelson SLSC (Nelson)
Rik Walsh, Fitzroy SLSC (New Plymouth)
Malcolm Heke, Fitzroy SLSC (New Plymouth)
Andrew Cronin, East End SLSC (New Plymouth)
Donald Whiterod, Otaki SLSC (Otaki)
Dale Wills, Paekakariki SLSC (Wellington)
Graeme Blanchard, Paekakariki SLSC (Wellington)
Jan Robinson, Lyall Bay SLSC (Wellington)
Craig Jones, Lyall Bay SLSC (Wellington)

Previous years' winners