National Award Winners 2007

In September each year the Surf Life Saving Awards of Excellence are held in Wellington.  These awards are an opportunity to celebrate achievements within Surf Life Saving and recognise members for the outstanding contribution they make to the organisation.

2007 Awards of Excellence

The following awards were presented over the 14th and 15th of September in Wellington:

BP Surf Rescue of the Year - Bay of Plenty Regional Lifeguards Pukehina Beach:

  • Lilah Foote
  • Rebekah Gee
  • Briar Macken

NZLGB Lifeguard of the Year - David Pontin, South Brighton Canterbury

2007 Hall of Fame Inductees:
  • Jo Clark, Maranui SLSC
  • John Jarvis, Muriwai LS
  • Chris Billing, Worser Bay SLSC
  • Rex Dalton, Mount Maunganui LS
  • Jenny Abrahamson (nee Clark), North Beach SLSC
Life Memberships:
  • Kent Jarman, Mount Maunganui SLSC
  • Peter Thorpe, Midway SLSC
  • Raymond Trilford, Westshore SLSC
  • Ian Maclaine, Waipu Cove SLSC
  • Alan Larsen, Palmerston North SLSC
Distinguished Service Awards:
  • Lynette McFedries, Otaki SLSC
  • Desmond Lyons, Sumner SLSC
  • Paul Ryan, Fitzroy SLSC
  • Gary Richards, Red Beach SLSC
  • Patricia Olsen, Red Beach SLSC
  • Alfred Scandrett, Waikanae SLSC
Service Awards:
  • Peter Housaix, Otaki SLSC
  • Brent Warner, Mount Maunganui LS
  • Peter Young, Red Beach SLSC
  • Graeme Porter, Red Beach SLSC
  • Sydney Jago, Westshore SLSC
  • Cory Hutchings, Midway SLSC
  • Trevor Williams, Wainui SLSC
  • Donald Dring, Lyall Bay SLSC
  • Paul Veric, New Plymouth Old Boys SLSC

2007 Volunteer of the Year - Scott Weatherall, Otago

2007 Surf Official of the Year - David Price, Canterbury

2007 Instructor/Examiner of the Year - Claire French, Northern Region

2007 Coach of the Year - Jason Pocock, Northern Region

2007 High Performance of the Year - Chelsea Maples, 2007 Australian Championships

                                                     Glenn Anderson, 2006 International Pool Challenge

London Trophy: Opotiki SLSC
Gudsell Trophy: Piha SLSC