Taranaki surf lifeguard award finalists announced

Posted by Alana McIsaac on Wednesday, May 30, 2018

The finalists for the 2018 Surf Life Saving Taranaki Awards of Excellence have been announced ahead of next month's ceremony in New Plymouth, where lifeguards from throughout the region are celebrated for their stellar efforts throughout the year.

Every year, regional Awards of Excellence ceremonies are held around the country to officially recognise Surf Life Saving New Zealand (SLSNZ) members for their hard work and dedication to surf lifesaving in New Zealand.

The Taranaki Awards of Excellence will be held at the Devon Hotel in New Plymouth on Friday June 8 and include lifeguards from Fitzroy, East End and New Plymouth Old Boys Surf Life Saving Clubs.

The winners of each category from the Taranaki awards, are then automatically selected as finalists in the national SLSNZ Awards of Excellence, held in September, where national award winners are announced.

Joel Meuli, Club Support Officer for Taranaki says the awards are an important way to end a busy season and recognise the contribution lifeguards make to the community.

"These Awards of Excellence are the perfect way to say thanks to all our members who have poured in so much time and energy over the 2017-18 patrol season," he says.

"Taranaki has a strong Surf Life Saving community so it was hard to select these finalists, but they have all proven themselves and we can't wait to celebrate with them," Mr Meuli added.

Tickets for the Taranaki Awards of Excellence can be ordered through Surf Life Saving Clubs.

Taranaki Awards of Excellence finalists:

Instructor of the Year
Anna Beavis, Fitzroy
Casey Stevens, New Plymouth Old Boys

Lifeguard of the Year
Todd Cations-Velvin, Fitzroy
Rhys Donovan, New Plymouth Old Boys

U19 Sportswoman of the Year
Hannah Baker, East End
Lucy North, East End
Sasha Reid, Fitzroy

U19 Sportsman of the Year
Zac Reid, Fitzroy

Sports Man of the Year
Javon McCallum, Fitzroy

U19 Sports Team of the Year
East End Ski Relay team, East End
Fitzroy U16 Board Rescue team, Fitzroy

Sports Team of Year
NPOB IRB team, New Plymouth Old Boys

Coach of the Year
Byron Reid, Fitzroy
Casey Stevens, New Plymouth Old Boys
Nicola Watson, East End

Surf Official of the Year
Brian Velvin, Fitzroy

Volunteer of the Year
Adam Fraser, Fitzroy
Paul Meuli, East End
Victoria Robinson, New Plymouth Old Boys

Michael Taylor Award (awarded to the person who best embodies the "spirit of surf lifesaving")
Gerard (Gerry) Callebaut, Fitzroy
Liam Cole, East End
Dean Spicer, New Plymouth Old Boys

SLSNZ_Awards Evening 2017-5413

For more information, please contact:

Alana McIsaac, Media & Communications Manager
Phone 027 515 7157
Email media@surflifesaving.org.nz