2024 Central Region - Local Area and Regional Specific Awards of Excellence Award Categories

This section contains awards specific to the Central Region and its local areas (Hawke's Bay, Taranaki, and Capital Coast).  Each category opens on Monday, 25 March, and closes on Wednesday, 1 May 2024. These are opportunities to honor and celebrate the mahi of dedicated club members who work tirelessly to ensure beachgoers get home safely.

Click below for Annual Awards Nomination Forms (Note: Only one form per person is needed for the annual nomination):

Taranaki Sportsman of the Year

Taranaki Sportswomen of the Year

Taranaki Junior (U19) Sportsman of the Year

Taranaki Junior (U19) Sportswomen of the Year

Taranaki Junior (U19) Sports Team of the Year

Michael Taylor Award


Capital Coast Junior (U19) Sportsperson of the Year


Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Male

Most Outstanding Beach Athlete - Female

Legend Iron Woman - All Ages

Legend Ironman - All Ages

Humes Cup - Most Improved Athlete

Outstanding Contribution to Power Craft

Hawke's Bay Masters Sportsperson of the Year

Hawke's Bay Masters Sports Team of the Year

Hawke's Bay Top Junior (U14) Surf Athlete of the Year


To view specific Central Region Awards Information follow this link: Appendix 4 – Central Region Specific Awards 2024


Note: For any queries regarding Honours and Awards, please contact your regional support team in the first instance.

Note: All nominations need to be sent via the awards@surflifesaving.org.nz email address by the closing date on May 1, 2024.