Open Dropdown

National Sport Committee and Advisory Groups

The National Sport Committee (NSC) is responsible for providing positive leadership of surf lifesaving sport delivery and development and providing SLSNZ staff with advice, feedback and support.

The NSC consists of seven representatives and two staff members. The four SLSNZ regions provide one representative each and there are three appointed positions. The two staff members are the General Manager, Programmes and Services and the Sport Development Manager.

The NSC meet face to face three times and have a number of teleconferences each year. The scope of activities includes;

  • Development, monitoring and evaluation of the Sport Strategy
  • National sport polices and rules
  • Sport participation
  • Event development
  • Coach development
  • Surf Official development
  • High performance development

Sport Committee's Terms of Reference (TOR):

National Sport Committee (NSC)

Maddie Boon (MB)  - Northern Region
Dion Williams (DW)  -  Eastern Region
Scott Bicknell (SB) - Central Region
Fraser Bickley (FB)  - Southern Region
Brad O'Leary (BO) - Appointed (Chairperson)
Joel Davies (JD)  - Appointed
Dave Shanks (DS) - Appointed
Wayne Franich (WF)  - ILS Liason

NSC Meeting Minutes

Additional to the NSC there are three Advisory Groups to assist SLSNZ and discuss specific agendas relating to their interests.  The three groups are IRB Sport, Surf Boats and Officials.

Surf Boat Sport Advisory Group (SBSAG)

Mark McCarthny (MM) - Northern Region (Chairperson)
Zita Talaic-Burgess (ZTB) - Northern Region
TBC - Eastern Region
Clayton Kellett (CK) - Eastern Region
Steve Dixon (SD) - Central Region
Brett Hamer (BH) - Central Region
Neil Watts (NW) - Southern Region
Michael (Willy) Kindred (MK) - Southern Region
Joel Davies (JD), National Sport Committee Liaison

SBSAG Meeting Minutes

IRB Sport Advisory Group (IRBSAG)

Shane Edwards (SE) - Appointed
Brad O'Leary (BO) - Appointed, (Chairperson) National Sport Committee Liaison
Spencer Raymond (SR) - Appointed
Bradley Walters (BW) - Northern Region
Brad Hall (BH) - Central Region
Peter Gibbons (PG) - Southern Region
Dave Hickey (DH) - Rescue Asset Manager, SLSNZ

IRBSAG Meeting Minutes

Surf Officials Leadership Group (SOLG)

Brian Velvin (BV) - Appointed
Debbie Hutchings (DH) - Appointed
Bernie Limbrick (BL) - Appointed
Greg Rieger (GR) - Eastern Region
Glenn Phipps (GP) - Northern Region
Denis Trembath (DT) - Southern Region
Harley Mclauglin (HM) - Central Region
Dave Shanks (DS) - NSC Liaison

SOLG Meeting Minutes